Footprints of Gautam Buddha: 5 Famous Sites

Gautam Buddha
Spread the love

Gautama Buddha, also known as Siddhartha Gautama, is widely recognized as the founder of Buddhism. He lived during the sixth and fourth centuries BCE, and his teachings on enlightenment have had a profound impact on the world. For those interested in Buddhism or historical travel, this article highlights five significant places associated with Gautama Buddha’s life:

Footprints of Gautam Buddha


Bodhgaya, situated in Bihar along the Niranjana River (formerly Uruwela), is renowned as the location where Buddha attained enlightenment. The Mahabodhi Temple Complex, one of Buddhism’s four holy sites linked to Lord Buddha’s life and enlightenment, is found here. Emperor Asoka initially constructed the temple in the third century B.C., and the present temple, dating from the fifth or sixth centuries, is one of India’s earliest surviving all-brick Buddhist temples, according to UNESCO.


Kushinagar, also referred to as Kushinara, is a town in Uttar Pradesh known as the place of Buddha’s passing, often referred to as Mahaparinirvana. It served as the capital of the Malla Janapada during Buddha’s final days.


Sravasti, located near the modern town of Balrampur in Uttar Pradesh, holds great significance in Buddha’s life. Buddha spent 24 Chaturmasas (equivalent to 24 years) in Sravasti, making it the place where the majority of his monastic life transpired. Additionally, Sravasti was the capital of the Kosala Kingdom during Buddha’s era and is also notable as the birthplace of Jaina Tirthankar Sambhavanath, making it significant for Jains as well.


Lumbini, presently located in the Kapilavastu district of Nepal, is celebrated as the birthplace of Gautama Buddha. During Buddha’s birth, Lumbini was part of the Shakya Janapada, a republic.


Sarnath, often referred to as the deer park, is where Gautama Buddha delivered his inaugural sermon, known as the Dhammachakraparivartan Sutra. It has been called by various names, including Mrigadava, Migadaya, Rishipattana, and Isipatana. During Buddha’s lifetime, Sarnath was a part of the Kashi Janapada.

These five locations hold immense historical and spiritual significance for Buddhists and those interested in the life and teachings of Gautama Buddha. Traveling to these sites can provide a profound and enriching experience.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *